CICA Press, an online and print media issued by CICA Museum, is media for art and culture from the perspective of young culture makers in spirit. CICA Press supports “young” culture makers, who have passion, critical thought, and desire for creative and experimental expression, regardless of their age and background. We have believed that our inexhaustible passion for art and expression and a reckless rebelliousness can change the world.

CICA Press deals with visual art and culture from perspectives of local artists. To overcome uniform dissemination of contemporary art from the “center of Art,” we aim to introduce local artists and cultures from different regions to global audiences and connect them with each other. CICA Press provides online and offline spaces to create a global network among local artists, designers, audiences, and communities so they can make, appreciate, and live in art in their regions and cultures.

“Posthuman: New Media Art 2020” features 56 new media artists worldwide who participated in the CICA New Media Art Conference 2019, Art Teleported Brooklyn NY 2019, and Post-Human: The 5th International Exhibition on New Media Art.

CICA Press는 ‘젊은’ 문화 창작가의 관점에서 아트와 문화 전반의 소식을 전하는 온라인+프린트 미디어입니다. CICA Press는 ‘정신’이 젊은 문화 창작가들을 후원합니다. 나이와 배경을 불문하고 열정과 비판적인 사고, 창의적이고 실험적인 표현에 대한 욕구를 가지신 분이라면 우리 모두 ‘젊은’ 문화 창작가가 아닐까요? 질풍노도 청춘의 이유 없는 반항심과 열정과도 같이, 눈먼 불나방과도 같은 창작의 욕구, 표현의 욕구가 세상을 바꿀 수 있다는 확신을 가져봅니다.

CICA Press는 ‘미술의 중심지’로부터 세계로의 일방적인 흐름을 극복하고자 세계 각 지역의 지역작가와 문화를 세계 독자들에게 소개하는 교두보가 되고자합니다. 온라인 및 오프라인 공간을 통하여 지역 작가, 디자이너, 관객, 주민들을 위한 글로벌 네트워크를 제공하여, 각자의 공간에서 고유의 문화를 발전시키면서 동시에 세계적인 수준의 예술문화를 창출하고, 공유하고, 즐기고, 감동을 주며, 예술이 삶에 스며들 수 있도록 힘쓰고 있습니다.

CICA Press 출판 “Posthuman: New Media Art 2020″는 2019 CICA 뉴 미디어 아트 컨퍼런스, Art Teleported Brooklyn NY 2019, Post-Human: The 5th International Exhibition on New Media Art 국제전에 참여한 56인의 국내외 뉴 미디어 아티스트들을 소개합니다.

Posthuman: New Media Art 2020

Editor-in-chief / Art Director: Leejin Kim

Editor / Designer: Soyoung Park

CICA President: Czong Ho Kim

CICA Vise-president: Myung Sook Kim

CICA Staffs: Soyoung Park, Seungsub Baik, Nokyeong Han

CICA NMAC 2019 Reporters / Photographers: Miseon Bae, Eunjung Choi, Soyoung Chung, Suhyoun Kim

CICA NMAC 2019/ Art Teleported 2019 MC: Hye Young Chyun

CICA NMAC 2019 DJ: Funkin Cat

Art Teleported 2019 Team: Leejin Kim, Kyungjin Yoo, Hye Young Chyun, Gerard D’Albon, Kiara Ocasio

Art & Technology Advisor: Kyungjin Yoo

Creative Advisor: Semi Kim

Produced by CICA Press, Gimpo, Korea
ISBN 979-11-88671-12-0 03600

Photographs and contents are copyrighted by the featured artists.

© 2020 CICA Press, Gimpo, Korea
All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photography, recording or any informational storage and retrieval system, without prior permission from the publisher.

CICA Museum

Cover Image © Tyler Calkin, Micro Gesture Party Mix (video still), 2019

Featured Artists:

Maryamsadat Amirvaghefi
Rubén Vega Balbás
Rora Blue
Tyler Calkin
Kimberly Callas
Kris Casey
Gene Chen
Frankie Chow
Eun Hyung Chung
Soo Jin Chung
Enzo Cillo
Maria Dundakova
Ben Glas
Genesis Gonzalez
Steve Guynup
Suji Han
Holden Holcombe
Jee Youn Hwang
Hyun Hong
Asaran Jeong
Nayoung Jeong
Reza Kianpour
Chang Eun Kim
Zahra Komeylian
Karen Krolak
Eun Lee
Hyunseung Lee
Jei Ryung Lee
Anja Malec
Ana I. Marten
Kevin Mercer
Christina Ivelisse Morris
David Mrugala
Su Hyun Nam
Ryohei Oba
Molly O’Donnell
Seungkyung Oh
Mikey Peterson
R. Prost
Jonathan Michael Ray
Nitzan Satt
Rui Sha
Ahree Song
Cecilia Suhr
Michael Tarbi
The Institute for
Aesthetic Advocacy
Anastasios Veloudis
Rebecca Vickers
Fu Wenjun
Changwoo Yoon
Eric Zeigler
Kyungjin Yoo
Kay Yoon